Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Mamzelle Employees
The employees of Mamzelle. Note the barrels and ice box at the back.

On the east bank, a unique new business was established in Destrehan. Numa Zeringue from Ama operated his original business from a little flatboat near the batture in front of the Red Church in Destrehan for three years beginning in 1872. Business continued from his boat until 1875 when he constructed and opened Mamzelle Store on the River Road a short distance west of Red Church. The store served the east bank as a popular shopping stop for over 50 years.

Numa grew rice on his property from the River Road to the railroad tracks. Some of the rice was sold in his store and the rest was shipped downriver to be sold in New Orleans. Numa later was a warden/trustee of the Little Red Church congregation. His name is listed on the cornerstone of the church.

Numa Zeringue’s Mamzelle Store
Numa Zeringue’s Mamzelle Store in Destrehan was built in 1875. Pictured are owners Numa and MiMi Zeringue in front seat, Numa Jr. in center, and sister in back. (Photo courtesy of Bryan Zeringue)

This text is copyright © material by Marilyn Richoux, Joan Becnel and Suzanne Friloux, from St. Charles Parish, Louisiana: A Pictorial History, 2010.

Related Images

Click the images for caption information.

See all images related to this topic.

Further Reading

St. Charles Parish as it Used to Be
By Numa Zeringue
Republished in the St. Charles Herald, February 16, 1978